Friday, September 21, 2007

Cardboard Boats Highlight the 225 Anniversary Waterfront Festival

Chestertown, MD — The Center for Environment & Society team led by Capt. John Seidel and the crew of Greenpeas was first around the course, garnering the top prize—the Cape Horn Award—at the Cardboard Boat Regatta on Saturday, September 22. The second best circumnavigator was Capt. Nancy Cross and the OIT crew of I-Float who took home the Capt. Cook Award, followed by Capt. D'Andre Phillips and the Athletics Department team, Kicking Some Grass, who won the Robert Peary Award.

The Horatio Nelson Award for best overall design, name and costumes went to Capt. Adam Goodheart and the C.V. Starr crew of R.M.S.Titanic. Capt. Maureen Sentman and the crew of Mighty Duck took home the Cutty Sark Award for best design and construction (way to go WC Ducks Unlimited). Capt. Teresa Fewlass and Elizabeth Clay from the Public Archaeology Lab garnered the Kon-Tiki Award for Leaky the mastodon. Capt. Spencer Case and the Psi Chi crew of Freudian Slip won the Linda Greenlaw award for most team spirit, while Capt. Jamie Beaber and the Slow & Steady crew swam away with the Titanic Award for the most spectacular sinking. Other notable entries included Capt. Brittany Dunbar and the crew of Moldy Minta, Capt. Annie Koch and the S.O.S. crew, and Capt. Heather Holiday and Dusty Mears of Two Peas in a Pod.

Washington College would like to thank and acknowledge all who joined the greater Chestertown community in celebrating our 225th Anniversary at the Waterfront Festival on Saturday. Special thanks to John Wasserman and Frank Gerber for teaching cardboard boatbuilding workshops, and to Taylor Buckley, Chesapeake Light Craft, The Finishing Touch, The Imperial Hotel, Roy Kirby, Old Mill Café, Play It Again Sam and Riley's for contributing to the Cardboard Boat Regatta. Tom Cousineau, Loretta Lodge, and Vicco Von Voss did a marvelous job of judging the competition.

We also extend our gratitude to Chester River Runoff for playing great bluegrass; Student Affairs for sponsoring the popular Kayak Competition and Caribbean steel drum band; Chesapeake Fields, Rose Green funnel cake, the Chestertown Optimist Club, and WC Dining Services for providing great food and service; Birds of Prey, Ducks Unlimited, Eastern Shore Land Conservancy, LaMotte Company, the Public Archaeology Lab and the Student Environmental Alliance (SEA) for interesting and educational exhibits; Admissions, College Relations, The Elm, Kent County News and WCTR for publicity and promotion; the GIS Lab for banners; Liz Anger, Jenifer Endicott and Carla Martin for handling registration; Tessa Miskell, Laura Wilson and the WC Special Events office for decorations; WC Buildings & Grounds and Kappa Alpha fraternity for clean-up; Jared Halter, Darnell Parker and Beth Anne Roy for coordinating recreational activities on land; Mike Duquette, JoAnn Fairchild, Bryan Matthews and John Wagner for coordinating activities on the Waterfront; Tom Briggs, Bill Cameron, Dave Dudek, Jim Flanagan, Mitch Grieb, Dyer Harris, George Lewis, Joe Manley, Chuck and Linda Parry, Rock Hall Yacht Club, Matt Tobriner and Fred Welsh for teaching people how to sail, giving boat tours of the Chester River, and showing their enthusiasm for messing about in boats.

Of course the real hero was the Chester River, and we're grateful for all who appreciate her beauty, mystery and magic. We hope that you'll all join us again next year!

September 21, 2007

No comments:

Post a Comment